Divisions Overview
The Louisiana Department of Justice is divided into the following divisions:
  • Administrative Services
  • Civil
  • Criminal
  • Executive
  • Gaming
  • Louisiana Bureau of Investigation
  • Litigation
  • Public Protection
Administrative Services
Coordinates the department’s budget, legislative affairs and department planning and performance.
Director: Liz Murrill

Provides legal representation to the state, its departments and agencies, boards and commissions, and statewide elected officials.
Director: Chester Cedars

Assists federal, state and local agencies in the investigation and prosecution of a wide range of criminal matters.
Director: Brandon Fremin

Oversees all department operations. Houses the Communications Division and the Solicitor General's Office.
Chief Deputy Attorney General: Bill Stiles
Communications Director: Millard Mulé
Solicitor General: Liz Murrill

Serves as legal advisor and legal representative to all Louisiana gaming regulatory agencies.
Director: Christopher Hebert

Louisiana Bureau of Investigation
Provides follow-up investigation services for Criminal Division; responds to requests for investigative assistance from any government agency; and provides investigative services in white collar crime and public corruption.
Director: Joe Picone

Provides legal representation to the state, its officers, agents, employees, boards and commissions in all tort claims seeking damages, whether or not covered by the State’s Self-Insurance Fund. 
Director: Sonia Mallett

Public Protection
Provides legal services in the areas of consumer protection and environmental law, insurance receivership and fair housing.
Director: Reneé Free

Coming soon, the attorney's general office seeks to provide a mechanism by which to take online payments for collections.